MPDisplay Poem: Just For Today

Just For Today
 
 I choose not to lay down and wait any longer 
 
     For things to change or come my way by chance
 
 I long to much for something different in life
 
  I admit, I’m not always right, nor often even sure
 
   Of all the things that could be or will be to come
 
  Still I realize, life isn’t safe for even the surest of men
 
 And confidence is an asset acquired though living
 
  From learning and trying,  and taking chances
 
 Just for today, I realize time is short, a whisper !
 
  Of thoughts for only a moment in mind and time
 
 Just for today,  I have a personal decision to make
 
 And this decision could easily affect all my tomorrows
 
 Yet, it is a chance I must take for all the right reasons
 
Of which I can foresee at this special moment
 
  Then time will be the judge of all my good intentions
 
 Because this day,  I realize,  I can live or die
 
 Knowing I made a stand though choice of decisions
 
To not wait for a fantasy to come, but to help it be
 
  Or let it go,  if fate finds my best efforts not good enough
 
 For this day,  I understand the relationship of confidence
 
Though faith in a higher power, the source of all wisdom
  The Breathitt Advocate
 Trials and Tribulation Column
  written: 4/20/2010 by Floyd Jett
©All rights reserved by Author
Leave a Reply

